top of page

The Five Workout Playlists You Need

Music is a powerful tool, especially in the gym. I've never been the type of person who can just go on a run with no music. Music is a staple workout item, and I've built up a bunch of solid playlists for my workouts. These playlists are like a special brand of caffeine that helps me to get through even the worst workouts.

Before I go into the details of these magical playlists, let's talk about a little rule I have.

Because I work out every day of the week, it's easy to get tired of my workout playlists. Even when I listen on shuffle. To combat this, I ONLY listen to these playlists when I'm working out. No cheating. This helps me to look forward to listening to them rather than rolling my eyes, thinking, not you again. This has been crucial to keeping the music fresh. (Also, don't forget to keep adding to them)!

Ok, now that that's been said, I can introduce you to a few of my favorite workout playlists:

The Thinking Playlist

This is for those days that aren't going so well. When you had a bad day at work or school, or just aren't feeling it. When you need to think.

Here's what's on mine:

  • Falling Out - Relient K

  • Maybe IDK - Jon Bellion

  • I Am Understood? - Relient K

  • Over Thinking - Relient K

  • Therapy - Relient K

(Can you tell what my favorite band is?)

Girl Power Pop Jams

Because everyone needs a little unashamedly poppy music in their lives.

This is especially crucial as a woman in the "iron temple," a place filled with testosterone, that houses 90% males. Show 'em what us girls are made of. Not just beauty, but also strength and dignity.

Here's what's on mine:

  • Run the World (Girls) - Beyoncé (is this even surprising?)

  • Move - Little Mix

  • That's My Girl - Fifth Harmony

  • Me Too - Meghan Trainor

  • Bad Liar - Selena Gomez

Cardio Playlist

This is crucial. Cardio sucks, guys. It sucks less when you put on these dancey tunes.

Here's what's on mine:

  • Lush Life - Zara Larsson

  • We Found Love - Rihanna + Calvin Harris

  • Shooting Stars - Bag Raiders

  • 2 Heads - Coleman Hell

  • I Took A Pill In Ibiza (Seeb Remix) - Mike Posner

Entrenando Playlist

I'm fluent in Spanish, and love Hispanic culture. And let's be real, their music is fire. This is a great substitute for a cardio playlist, if you've tired of yours.

Here's what's on mine:

  • Gasolina - Daddy Yankee

  • Despacito (feat. Daddy Yankee) - Luis Fonsi (because I was into this song before the Biebs #sohipster)

  • Me Enamoré - Shakira

  • La Luz - Juanes

  • Sácame de Aquí - Dvicio

Alternative Endurance Playlist

I'm into Alternative and Indie music, and it's easy for me to feel a surge of energy with an underlying, pulsating bass vibe. This playlist is special to me, because it's what I ran to when I was training for my half marathons that I used to run to honor my sweet friend Janesah. This playlist represents hundreds of painful and therapeutic miles in honor of a beautiful soul.

Here's what's on mine:

  • BA55 - Switchfoot

  • Reflektor - Arcade Fire

  • Electric Feel - MGMT

  • Something Good Can Work - Two Door Cinema Club

  • Cardiac Arrest - Bad Suns

Other Equally Valid Playlist Options

There's no secret formula. Go wild! Here are some other ideas to get you started.

  • Upbeat Jesus Music

  • Absolute Bangers

  • Hardcore Rap

  • Country Caffeine

  • Guilty Pleasure

  • Throwbacks

What are some of your go-to playlists? What drives you when you work out?

Wanna connect on Spotify? Just add me!

Recent Posts
Archive
Search By Tags
No tags yet.
bottom of page