top of page

Read This Book: Garden City

I've read a lot of books during my time at Biola. Around 200 of them. It was part of my work in a great books program called Torrey. The amount of books I've been reading has certainly slowed down since I finished my last reading semester of the program in December, but I don't intend to stop entirely. I love reading, and it's something that I want to be intentional about as I move into my adult life.

I'm about to leave college to enter the work force, and I was getting a little bit nervous about it. I've applied to a good amount of jobs, but I haven't heard anything back yet. I don't have much formal experience in digital marketing, which is what I'm interested in doing. Also, I came to Biola with the dream of helping people in the Global South (a.k.a. the developing world or the third world), and before reading this book, I was worried that choosing a different industry or a "boring" desk job, would be giving up on the dream in an act of defeat.

Reading Garden City by John Mark Comer

But most of that changed when I read Garden City by John Mark Comer.

Like I said, I've read a lot of books in my lifetime, but this one has been especially life-changing. It's an easy read and changed my perspective on cubicle jobs, human productivity, and even motherhood. It not only helped to give me hope in my pending job search and to begin to recognize my calling, but also gave newfound importance to the work that others do.

I highly recommend this book. To graduating seniors. To stay-at-home moms. To the worn-out worker. To the impassioned idealist. To the workaholic. To the entrepreneur. To the one who feels weary. To all humans.

You can buy the book here. If you're worried about spending money on it, check your local library, and if it's not there yet, email me. I'll think about sending a copy to you... that's just how important this book is to me.

If you are a human, please read this book.


Recent Posts
Archive
Search By Tags
No tags yet.
bottom of page